The civil service examination is a competitive examination in India conducted by union public service commission once in a year its commonly know as UPSC Civil Services examination and one of the toughest competitive exam for the recruitment of officers for the all administrative services in India.



  • Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

  • Indian Police Service (IPS)


  • Indian Foreign Service (IFS)

  • Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IA&AS)

  • Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS)

  • Indian Corporate Law Service (ICLS)

  • Indian Defense Accounts Service (IDAS)

  • Indian Defense Estate Service (IDES)

  • Indian Information Service (IIS)

  • Indian Telecommunication Service (ITS)

  • Indian Ordnance Factories Service (IOFS)

  • Indian Postal Service (IPoS)

  • Indian P&T Accounts and Finance Service (IP&TAFS)

  • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)

  • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)

  • Indian Railway Protection Force Service (IRPFS)

  • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)

  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS-IT)

  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS-C&CE)

  • Indian Trade Service (ITrS)


  • Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Services (AFHCS)

  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service (DANICS)

  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Service (DANIPS)

  • Pondicherry Civil Service (PCS)

  • Pondicherry Police Service (PPS


Eligibility for the examination you need to qualify the below mentioned parameters in order to

apply for the UPSC examination.


A candidate should be a minimum of 21 years and maximum 32 years old (for the general

category candidates) on 1 august of the year of examination.

The upper age limit prescribed above is relaxable for

  • 5 Years - Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST)

  • 3 Years - Other Backward Classes (OBC)

  • 3 Years - Defence Services personnel

  • 5 Years - ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service as on August 01, 2020.

  • 5 Years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs

  • 10 Years - Blind, deaf-mute, and orthopedically handicapped persons

  • 5 Years - In the case of ECOs/SSCOs


  • Candidate must be a citizen of India

  • Candidate must be a Nepal or a subject of Bhutan

  • Candidate must be a Tibetan Refugee who settled in India permanently before January 1,1962

  • Candidate must be a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zaire or Zambia with an intention of permanently settling in India.


Candidates must have as a minimum one of the following qualification

  • Candidate must hold a Degree from a central, state or a deemed university

  • Candidate who received a degree through correspondence or distance education

  • Candidate who have passed the final of the MBBS degree but have not yet completed an internship

  • Candidate who have passed the final exam of the ICAI, ICSI and ICWAI

  • Candidate who received a degree from private university

  • Candidate who received a degree from any foreign university recognized by the Association of Indian Universities..