Skip to main content

Parliamentary system.

The parliamentary system refers to that democratic governance, in which the the executive is responsible to the legislature for its policies and acts.

In the Parliamentary system the government of the country govern the governance from the parliament.

In India The head of the legislative assembly is the president, is the nominal executive (the jure executive or titular executive).
While the prime minister is the real executive (de facto executive).
Therefore the point you can observe here that the Prime minister is the head of the government, and the president is the head of the states..

Article 74

According to the Constitution of india the article 74 provides that the  council of ministers headed by the the Prime minister is to aid and advise the president in the exercise of his functions. The advice is so tendered is binding on the president.

Bicameral legislature or Bicameral parliament

Due to the bicameral legislation system, the Indian parliament has devided into two houses.  The lower house ( lok sabha)and the upper house (rajya sabha)

The members of the Lower houses are directly elected by the people of india (representative of peoples), while the members of the upper house are elected by the indirect method of election in to parliament by a single transferable vote. (Council of states).

Members of each houses

According to the constitution of india the maximum number of seats in the lower house (lok sabha) are 550, but after the year of 1952 the two nominated seats are formed for the Anglo indians. at present there are 543 members into the lok sabha.
While in the upper house (rajya sabha)
Have the  maximum number of seats are 250, out of which 238 members will be elected. and 12 eminent persons from the different fields such as science, arts, health, law, etc, will nominated by the president of india. At present 245 member, out of which 12 are nominated by the president (ram nath kovind).


Popular posts from this blog

Features of the federal system in India

The federal features of the constitution of india are explained below. 1. Dual polity. 2. Written constitution. 3. Division of powers. 4. Supremacy of the constitution. 5. Rigid constitution. 6. Independent judiciary. 7. Bicameralism. Dual polity The constitution establishes a dual polity consisting the Union at the centre and state at the Periphery. each is endowed with Sovereign power to be exercised in the field assigned to them respectively by the constitution. the union government deals with the matters of national importance like defence, Foreign Affairs, currency, communication and so on. the state governments on the other hand look after the matters of regional and local importance like public order, agriculture, health, local government and so on. Written constitution The constitution is not only a written document but also the lengthiest constitution of the world. originally, it contained a Preamble, 395 articles divided into 22 parts and 8 schedules. at

Features of the Parliamentary Government

The parliamentary government is a type of democratic government, in which the government governs the nation from the parliament. The following features of the Parliament government. 1. Nominal and real executives. 2. Majority party rule. 3. Political homogeneity. 4. Collective responsibility. 5. Double membership. 6. Leadership of the Prime minister. 7. Dissolution of the Lower house. 8. Secrecy. Nominal and real executives. It is the first feature of the parliamentary government in which the president is the nominal executive executive. ( de jure executive or the titural executive ), while the Prime Minister is the real executive ( de facto executive ). Thus the president is head of the state, while the prime minister is head of the government, according to the Constitution of india (article-74) provides for a Council of Ministers headed by the prime minister, to aid and advise the president in the exercise of his functions. The advise so tendered is binding on the

Demerits of the Parliamentary system

The parliamentary system of government has the following demerits. 1. Unstable government. 2. No continuity of policies. 3. Dictatorship of the cabinet. 4. Against separation of powers. 5. Government by amateurs. Unstable government the Parliament system does not provide a stable government. there is no guarantee that the government can survive its tenure. the ministers depend on the mercy of the majority legislators for their continuity and survival in office. a no-confidence motion or political defection or evils of multiparty coalition can make the government unstable. the government headed by Morarji Desai, Charan Singh, VP Singh, Chandra shekhar, Dev Goda and I K Gujral are some such examples. No continuity of policies the parliamentary system is not conducted for the formulation and implementation of Long Term Policies. this is due to the uncertainty of the tenure of the government. a change in the ruling party is usually followed by changes in the policy of t